Committees of the College

Every health regulatory college has certain regulatory responsibilities.  College committees support public safety by ensuring that these responsibilities are carried out.  Each committee includes a mix of naturopathic doctors elected to Council, public appointees and appointed NDs.  

There are two types of committees: statutory and non-statutory.  Members of the Executive Committee, one of the statutory committees, are elected by Council.  For all other committees, Council appoints the members for a one-year term, open to renewal subject to the committee’s terms of reference.

Statutory Committees

Statutory Committees are established pursuant to the Health Professions Procedural Code, which is Schedule II of the Regulated Health Professions Act.  They include the following:

Discipline Committee
Executive Committee
Fitness to Practice Committee
Inquiry, Complaints and Reports Committee
Patient Relations Committee
Quality Assurance Committee
Registration Committee.

To read about the roles and responsibilities of the Statutory Committees, click here.

Committee Annual Reports
The PDF below includes the 2019/20 annual reports from the College’s Statutory Committees. These were provided to the College Council at its July 2020 meeting as required under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991. The reports cover the period from April 1, 2019 through March 31, 2020. 
Statutory Committee Reports
(Adobe PDF File)

Non-Statutory Committees

Non-Statutory Committees are appointed by the Council of the College and are established under either a regulation established under the Naturopathy Act, or under the authority granted to the Council under the by-laws of the College.  The following Non-Statutory Committees have been established:

Audit Committee
Examination Appeals Committee
Inspection Committee
Nominations and Elections Committee
Scheduled Substances Review Committee.

To read about the roles and responsibilities of Non-statutory Committees, click here.